61st Plenary Meeting

The European Space Science Committee (ESSC) virtually met for their 61st plenary meeting on the 26-28th of May 2021. 

The meeting was attended by 45 participants including the ESSC members, the ESSC Secretariat, and the representatives from European and International institutions, such as the European Space Agency (ESA), the EU Agency for Space Programme (EUSPA), the Committee on Space Research (COSPAR), the Space Studies Board and Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board (SSB), and the Chinese Academy of Science (CAS),

Agenda (PDF)


  • Maurice Borgeaud, Head of Earth Observation Department (EO), Science, Applications and Climate, European Space Agency
  • Fiametta Diani, Head of Market Development, EUSPA
  • Colleen Hartman, SSB/ASEB Board Director, Space Studies Board (USA), ex-officio member
  • Günther Hasinger, Director of Science Programmes (SCI), European Space Agency
  • Andreas Schoen, Head of Research and Utilisation, Human and Robotic Exploration (HRE), European Space Agency
  • Nicolas Walter, ESF Chief Executive Officer, ex-officio member
  • Chi Wang, General Director of NSCC, CAS, China
  • Jean-Claude Worms, Executive Director, COSPAR, ex-officio member