59th Plenary Meeting


The European Space Science Committee (ESSC), Committee composed of 31 scientists virtually met for their 59th plenary meeting on the 15th of May. The physical meeting, previously planned to be hold in Granada at the same dates, had to be cancelled due to Covid-19 crisis.

The meeting was attended by 40 participants including the ESSC members, the ESSC Secretariat, and the representatives from European and International institutions, such as the European Space Agency (ESA), the European Commission (EC), the Committee on Space Research (COSPAR) and the Space Studies Board and Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board (SSB).

Agenda (pdf)



  • Mats Ljungqvist, Senior Programme Manager, European Commission
  • Rémy Denos, Policy Officer in Energy Technologies, European Commission
  • Günther Hasinger, Director of Science, European Space Agency
  • Maurice Borgeaud, Head of ESA Earth Observation Department ‘Science, Applications and Climate’, European Space Agency
  • Jean-Claude Worms, Executive Director, COSPAR, ex-officio member
  • Colleen Hartman, SSB/ASEB Board Director, Space Studies Board (USA), ex-officio member
  • Josef Aschbacher, European Space Agency
  • Andreas Schoen, European Space Agency
  • Nicolas Walter, ESF Chief Executive Officer, ex-officio member