57th Plenary Meeting

The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, Amsterdam, Netherlands 9-10 May 2019

The European Space Science Committee (ESSC), Committee composed of 31 scientists met for their 57th plenary meeting on 9-10 May 2019 at The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, Amsterdam (NL). The meeting was attended by 48 participants including representatives from various,local, European and International institutions, such as the European Space Agency (ESA), the European Commission (EC), the Committee on Space Research (COSPAR), the Space Studies Board and Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board (SSB), the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), the Netherlands Institute for Space Research (SRON), among others.

Agenda (pdf)


  • Dr. Maurice Borgeaud, Head of ESA Earth Observation Department 'Science, Applications and Climate', EOP-S
  • Mr. Joost Carpay, ESA Program Manager, NSO
  • Prof. Ewine von Dishoeck, Director, NOVA
  • Dr. Jean-Louis Fellous, Executive Director, COSPAR
  • Dr. James Green, Chief Scientist, NASA
  • Dr. Colleen Hartman,SSB/ASEB Board Director, SSB
  • Dr. Günther Hasinger, Director of Science, ESA-SCI
  • Dr. Mats Ljungqvist, Policy Officer, EC/DG GROW
  • Dr. David Parker,Director, Human and Robotic Exploration, ESA
  • Prof. Yoshio Toukaku,Director for International Strategy and Coordination, JAXA
  • Dr. Michael Wise, Director General, SRON
  • Dr. Lev Zelenyi, Director, IKI
  • Ms. Peiwen Zhu, International Cooperation Manager, CAST


57th ESSC Plenary Album