• Women's Forum Global Meeting 2018

    November 19, 2018

    The ESSC Chair was invited through ESA to attend the Women’s Forum Global Meeting 2018,  Paris, France 14-16 November 2018, where Diversity but also Climate Change, STEM, clean energy, health and other important matters, very much relevant also to space, were addressed and discussed. In particular at that Forum, on Friday, 16 November, took place a… Read more

  • ESSC Chair attends the United Nations High Level Forum

    November 13, 2018

    ESSC Chair, Dr. Athena Coustenis has been invited to give a talk at the United Nations High Level Forum which is taking place between 13-16 November in Bonn, Germany. HLF 2018 aims to serve as a platform for providing updates and recommendations on the potential of space innovations to address new and emerging sustainable development challenges, building… Read more

  • ESSC member, Prof. Hermann J Opgenoorth, awarded the Baron Marcel Nicolet Space Weather Medal 2018

    November 13, 2018

    Prof. Hermann J Opgenoorth was awarded the Baron Marcel Nicolet medal for his efforts in the international coordination of Space Weather. The medal ceremony was held during the 15th European Space Weather Week in Leuven (Belgium) on 5 November 2018. There are three international space weather and space climate medals which are awarded every year to… Read more

  • European Science Foundation’s European Space Sciences Committee welcomes decisions taken at ESA Inter-Ministerial Council meeting 2018

    November 12, 2018

    The European Space Sciences Committee (ESSC) – the independent expert committee on space sciences of the European Science Foundation (ESF) – welcomes the outcome from the recent ESA Inter-Ministerial Council meeting that took place in Madrid, Spain on 25 October 2018, under the chairmanship of Mr Pedro Duque, Spanish Minister responsible for space. The ESSC… Read more

  • ESSC Chair meets the ACAE President in Bremen

    November 07, 2018

    The ESSC Chair, Dr. Athena Coustenis and the ESSC member, Dr. Alexandr Chouker met the president of the Central American Association for Aeronautics and Space (ACAE), Mr Carlos Enrique Alvarado, to discuss a potential collaboration between ESSC and ACAE. Read more

  • ESSC Chair appointed HESAC Chairperson

    October 26, 2018

    The Chair of the ESSC, Dr. Athena Coustenis, has been appointed as the Chair of ESA’s Human Spaceflight and Exploration Science Advisory Committee (HESAC) – the senior advisory body to ESA’s Director of Human Spaceflight and Robotic Exploration. ESSC’s member Sarah Baatout was also invited to join the committee. The HESAC Committee met for the first time… Read more

  • ESSC and ESF invited to attend the ESA Intermediate Ministerial Meeting

    October 26, 2018

    ESSC and ESF invited to attend the ESA Intermediate Ministerial Meeting in Madrid, Spain on 25 October 2018. Member States delegations discussed and endorsed the steps to be taken in advance of  ‘Space19+’, ESA’s next Council at ministerial level which will be held in November 2019 in Seville, Spain. Read more

  • Public consultation on the next EU Research and Innovation Programme- ESSC Contribution

    March 20, 2018

    The European Space Sciences Committee (ESSC) has provided its recommendations on the public consultation of the next FP9 programme on a Space Strategy for Europe.   The ESSC contribution can be downloaded here. Read more

  • ISECG Science White Paper

    January 25, 2018

    The International Space Exploration Coordination Group (ISECG) has published the full Science White Paper “Scientific Opportunities Enabled by Human Exploration Beyond Low-Earth-Orbit”.The Science White Paper focuses on the science enabled by near-term mission concepts for human exploration: a gateway in the lunar vicinity, the lunar surface, and asteroids.… Read more

  • ESSC mourns the loss of its member Professor Pierre Binétruy

    April 05, 2017

    The European Space Sciences Committee members and secretariat are deeply saddened by the untimely death of one of its most active members, Pierre Binétruy. Pierre was a unanimously appreciated and respected colleague. His immense contribution to the themes of cosmology, gravitation, physics and astrophysics of high energy, and finally gravitational waves,… Read more