ESSC Chair appointed HESAC Chairperson

October 26, 2018

The Chair of the ESSC, Dr. Athena Coustenis, has been appointed as the Chair of ESA’s Human Spaceflight and Exploration Science Advisory Committee (HESAC) – the senior advisory body to ESA’s Director of Human Spaceflight and Robotic Exploration. ESSC’s member Sarah Baatout was also invited to join the committee.

The HESAC Committee met for the first time with partly renewed membership (HESAC is currently composed of 10 senior European scientific experts and some ex-officio members) on 6 September 2018 at ESTEC, the Netherlands. It is the main interpreter of the views and needs of the European scientific community as regards access to space experimentation and data exploitation in the human spaceflight, microgravity and exploration programmes.

More information>>