60th Plenary

26-27th November 2020​

ESSC 60th Plenary Meeting

The European Space Science Committee (ESSC) virtually met for their 60th plenary meeting on the 26-27th of November

The meeting was attended by 42 participants including the ESSC members, the ESSC Secretariat, and the representatives from European and International institutions, such as the European Space Agency (ESA), the European Commission (EC), the Committee on Space Research (COSPAR), the Space Studies Board and Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board (SSB) and the Luxembourg Space Agency (LSA)

During this meeting, Athena Coustenis finished her mandate as a Chair and Chris Rapley took officially the role of ESSC Chair. 

Invited Guests

Maurice Borgeaud

Head of Earth Observation Department (EO), Science, Applications and Climate, European Space Agency

Rémy Denos

Policy Officer in Energy Technologies, European Commission

Colleen Hartman

SSB/ASEB Board Director, Space Studies Board (USA), ex-officio member

Günther Hasinger

Director of Science Programmes (SCI), European Space Agency

Mathias Link

Director International Affairs & Space Resources, Luxembourg Space Agency, Director ESRIC

Mats Ljungqvist

Senior Programme Manager, European Commission

David Parker

Director Human and Robotic Exploration, European Space Agency

Nicolas Walter

ESF Chief Executive Officer, ex-officio member

Jean-Claude Worms

Executive Director, COSPAR, ex-officio member


  • COSPAR Update, Jean-Claude Worms
  • ESA / SCI presentation, Günther Hasinger
  • ESA / HRE presentation, David Parker
  • NAS Space Science Board presentation, Colleen Hartman
  • Horizon Europe presentation, Mats Ljungqvist
  • Space under Horizon Europe, Remy Denos
  • ESA / EO presentation, Maurice Borgeaud
  • ESRIC presentation, Mathias Link

To see the presentations, please contact essc[at]