58th Plenary

2nd-3rd October 2019

ESSC 58th Plenary Meeting

The European Space Science Committee (ESSC), Committee composed of 31 scientists met for their 58th plenary meeting on 2-3 October 2019 at The Royale Academy of Belgium, Brussels (BE). The meeting was attended by 40 participants including representatives from various,local, European and International institutions, such as the European Space Agency (ESA), the European Commission (EC), the Committee on Space Research (COSPAR), the Space Studies Board and Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board (SSB), the Belgian Science Policy Office (BELSPO), the Research Foundation – Flanders (FWO),the National Fund for Scientific Research (FNRS), the Luxembourg Space Agency (LSA), among others.

Invited Guests

Olivier Boehme

Director International Affairs & Space Resources, Luxembourg Space Agency, Director ESRIC

Maurice Borgeaud

Head of Earth Observation Department (EO), Science, Applications and Climate, European Space Agency

Rémy Denos

Policy Officer in Energy Technologies, European Commission

Jean-Louis Fellous

Executive Director, COSPAR

Colleen Hartman

SSB/ASEB Board Director, Space Studies Board (USA), ex-officio member

Günther Hasinger

Director of Science Programmes (SCI), European Space Agency

David Krása

Head of Sector Physical Sciences & Mathematics, ERCEA

Bob Lamboray

Policy Officer, LSA

Nicolas Peter

Chair of the ESRE Strategic Executive Committee, DLR

Nadège Ricaud

Senior Policy Officer, FNRS

Didier Schmitt

Coordinator for Human and Robotic Exploration, ESA

Werner Verschueren

Vice-Director Research, BELSPO

Jean-Claude Worms

ESF Chief Executive Officer, ex-officio member


  • FWO Presentation, Dr. Olivier Boehme
  • ESA Earth Observation Update, Dr. Maurice Borgeaud
  • European Commission H2020 and Outlook on Horizon Europe, Dr. Rémy Denos
  • COSPAR Udpate, Dr. Jean-Louis Fellous
  • Space Science Board Update to ESSC, Dr. Colleen Hartman
  • ESA Mandatory Scientific Program Update, Dr. Günther Hasinger
  • The European Research Council: Prime funder of Frontier Research in Europe, Dr. David Krása
  • Update from Luxembourg, Mr. Bob Lamboray
  • European Space Research Establishments (ESRE) Update, Dr. Nicolas Peter
  • DLR Update, Dr. Nicolas Peter
  • FNRS Presentation, Ms. Nadège Ricaud
  • ESA Human Spaceflight and Robotic Exploration Update, Mr. Didier Schmitt
  • Belgian Funding of Space Research – The ESA PRODEX Programme, Dr. Werner Verschueren

To see the presentations, please contact essc[at]