59th Plenary

15th May 2020

ESSC 59th Plenary Meeting

The European Space Science Committee (ESSC), Committee, composed of 31 scientists, virtually met for their 59th plenary meeting on the 15th of May. The physical meeting, previously planned to be hold in Granada at the same dates, had to be cancelled due to Covid-19 crisis.

The meeting was attended by 40 participants including the ESSC members, the ESSC Secretariat, and the representatives from European and International institutions, such as the European Space Agency (ESA), the European Commission (EC), the Committee on Space Research (COSPAR) and the Space Studies Board and Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board (SSB).

Invited Guests

Josef Aschbacher

Director of Earth Observation Programmes, European Space Agency

Maurice Borgeaud

Head of EO Department "Science, Applications and Climate", European Space Agency

Rémy Denos

Policy Officer in Energy Technologies, European Commission

Colleen Hartman

SSB/ASEB Board Director, Space Studies Board (USA), ex-officio member

Günther Hasinger

Director of Science Programmes (SCI), European Space Agency

Mats Ljungqvist

Senior Programme Manager, European Commission

Andreas Schoen

Human and Robotic Exploration, European Space Agency

Nicolas Walter

ESF Chief Executive Officer, ex-officio member

Jean-Claude Worms

Executive Director, COSPAR, ex-officio member


  • COSPAR Update, Jean-Claude Worms
  • Horizon Europe presentation, Mats Ljungqvist
  • ESA / SCI presentation, Günther Hasinger
  • ESA / EO presentation, Josef Aschbacher
  • ESA / HRE presentation, Andreas Schoen
  • NAS Space Science Board presentation, Colleen Hartman

To see the presentations, please contact essc[at]