51st Plenary

18-20 May 2016
Rome, IT

ESSC 51st Plenary Meeting

The European Space Science Committee (ESSC) virtually met for their 51st plenary meeting on the 18-19th of May

The meeting was attended by 29 participants including the ESSC members, the ESSC Secretariat, and the representatives from European and International institutions, such as the European Space Agency (ESA), the European Commission (EC), the Committee on Space Research (COSPAR), the Space Studies Board and Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board (SSB), the Russian Space Research Institute (IKI), the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA), the Chinese Academy of Science (CAS), the Italian Space Agency (ASI)

Invited Guests

Maurice Borgeaud

Head of Earth Observation Department (EO), Science, Applications and Climate, European Space Agency

Enrico Costa

Member of the board of directors, Italian Space Agency (ASI)

Fabio Favata

ESA Coordinator for Astronomy and Fundamental Physics missions, European Space Agency

Oleg Korablev

Space Research Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences, IKI

Michael Moloney

Director, Space Studies Board (SSB), US

Nicolas Peter

Space Policy and Research Unit, European Commission

Toru Yamada

Director of International Strategy and Coordination at Institute of Space and Astronautical Science (ISAS), JAXA, JP

Chi Wang

General Director of NSCC, Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), CN

Jean-Claude Worms

ESF Chief Executive Officer, ex-officio member