52nd Plenary

14-15 November 2016
Strasbourg, FR

ESSC 52nd Plenary Meeting

The European Space Science Committee (ESSC) met for their 52nd plenary meeting on the 14-16th of November 2016 at the ESF headquarter in Strasbourg, France. The meeting was attended by 39 participants including the ESSC members, the ESSC Secretariat, and the representatives from European and International institutions, such as the European Space Agency (ESA), the EU Agency for Space Programme (EUSPA), the Committee on Space Research (COSPAR), the Space Studies Board and Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board (SSB), and the Chinese Academy of Science (CAS), the Russian Space Research Institute (IKI), the Chinese Academy of Science (CAS) and the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA)

Invited Guests

Mario Amaral

Space Policy and Research Unit, European Commission-DG GROW

Maurice Borgeaud

Head of Earth Observation Department (EO), Science, Applications and Climate, European Space Agency

Luigi Colangeli

Head of the Science Coordination Office for the Scientific Programme, European Space Agency

Jean-Louis Fellous

Executive Director, COSPAR

Marc Heppener

Chief Science Officer for Human Spaceflight and Robotic Exploration (HRE), European Space Agency

Wu Ji

Director, National Space Science Center (NSSC), Chinese Academy of Science (CAS), CN

Oleg Korablev

Space Research Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences, IKI

Bhavya Lal

Study Committee Co-chair, IDA Science and Technology Policy Institute, USA

Michael Moloney

Director, Space Studies Board (SSB), US

Toru Yamada

Director of International Strategy and Coordination at Institute of Space and Astronautical Science (ISAS), Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency, JAXA, JP

Jean-Claude Worms

ESF Chief Executive Officer, ex-officio member