62nd Plenary

30 Nov - 1 Dec 2021

ESSC 62nd Plenary Meeting

The European Space Science Committee (ESSC) virtually met for their 62nd plenary meeting on the 30th of November – the 1st of December 2021. The meeting was attended by participants from the ESSC members, the ESSC Secretariat, and the representatives from European and International institutions, such as the European Space Agency (ESA), the EU Agency for Space Programme (EUSPA), the Committee on Space Research (COSPAR), and the Space Studies Board and Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board (SSB).

Invited Guests

Kirsten MacDonell

Leader, Research and Payloads Group ESA D/HRE

Maurice Borgeaud

Head of Earth Observation Department (EO), Science, Applications and Climate, European Space Agency

Colleen Hartman

SSB/ASEB Board Director, Space Studies Board (USA), ex-officio member

Günther Hasinger

Director of Science Programmes (SCI), European Space Agency

Fiametta Diani

Head of Market Development, EUSPA

Jean-Claude Worms

Executive Director, COSPAR, ex-officio member


  • COSPAR presentation, Jean-Claude Worms
  • NAS Space Science Board presentation, Colleen Hartman
  • ESA / SCI presentation, Günther Hasinger
  • ESA / HRE presentation, Kirsten MacDonell
  • ESA / EO presentation, Maurice Borgeaud
  • EUSPA, Fiametta Diani​

To see the presentations, please contact essc[at]