Michael Perryman receives the 2022 Shaw Award

May 24, 2022

We are thrilled to announce that ESSC member and University College Dublin Physics Professor, Michael Perryman, has just received the 2022 Shaw Prize in Astronomy in equal shares with Lennart Lindegren, from Lund Observatory, Sweden for their lifetime contributions to space astrometry, and in particular for their role in the conception and design of the European Space Agency’s Hipparcos and Gaia missions.

The Shaw Prize is an international award to honour individuals, who are active in their respective fields and who have recently achieved distinguished and significant advances, who have made outstanding contributions in academic and scientific research or applications, or who in other domains have achieved excellence.

We warmly congratulate Michael on this prestigious award and recognition of his impressive contribution.

Know more about Michael Perryman>>

Know more about the award>>

Prof. Michael Perryman