67th Plenary

16th - 17th April 2024

ESSC 67th Plenary Meeting

The European Space Science Committee (ESSC) met for their 67th plenary meeting on the 16th April 2024. The meeting was attended by the ESSC members, the ESSC Secretariat, and the representatives from European institutions, such as the European Space Agency (ESA), and the Committee on Space Research (COSPAR). The plenary enabled the ESSC Panels to convene (both in person, and in a hybrid setting).

In this plenary, the ESSC bid a farewell to some Panel Chairs and ESSC members who stepped down from their position. 

Invited Guests

Rune Floberghagen

Head of the Science, Applications and Climate, D/EOP

Kai-Uwe Schrogl

Head of the ESA Policies

Paul McNamara

Astronomy and Astrophysics Coordinator, SSAC secretary

Didier Schmitt

Strategy and coordination group leader for robotic and human exploration D/HRE

Jean-Claude Worms

Executive Director, COSPAR, ex-officio member


  • COSPAR presentation, Jean-Claude Worms
  • ESA EOP presentation, Rune Floberghagen
  • ESA / SCI presentation, Paul McNamara
  • ESA / HRE presentation, Didier Schmitt
  • ESA / Policy presentation, Kai-Uwe Schrogl

To see the presentations, please contact essc[at]