64th Plenary

06 - 08 December 2022
Leiden, NL

ESSC 64th Plenary Meeting

The European Space Science Committee (ESSC) met for their 64th plenary meeting between 6-8 December 2022 in Leiden. The meeting was attended by 38 participants from the ESSC members, the ESSC Secretariat, and the representatives from European and International institutions, such as the European Space Agency (ESA), the Committee on Space Research (COSPAR), the Netherlands Institute for Space Research (SRON), and the Space Studies Board and Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board (SSB).

Invited Guests

Conny Aerts

Professor, KU Leuven, Belgium

Luigi Colangeli

Programme Advisor, Directorate of Science, ESA

Rune Floberghagen

Head of Science, Application and Climate, D/EO, ESA

Colleen Hartman

SSB/ASEB Board Director, Space Studies Board (USA), ex-officio member

Eike Kircher

Deputy Head od the Technology Programmes, ESA

Mats Ljunqvist

Senior Policy Officer, DG Defis

David Parker

Director, D/HRE, ESA

Michael Wise

Director, SRON, The Netherlands

Jean-Claude Worms

Executive Director, COSPAR, ex-officio member


  • COSPAR presentation, Jean-Claude Worms
  • ESA / SCI presentation, Luigi Colangeli
  • SRON Presentation, Michael Wise
  • EC Horizon Europe presentation, Mats Ljunqvist
  • ESA EOP Presentation, Rune Floberghagen
  • ESA HRE Presentation, Dave Parker
  • ESA DTEC Presentation, Eike Kircher
  • NAS Space Science Board presentation, Colleen Hartman

to see the presentations, please contact essc[at]