The 2022 Excellence in Space Sciences Award


The European Space Sciences Committee (ESSC) is launching its 2022 Excellence in Space Sciences Award to recognize dedicated early-career researchers with significant contributions to space sciences. 

Achievements should focus on science and its applications, based upon space data generated by European missions, in the fields of:  

  • Astronomy and Fundamental physics 
  • Life and Physical sciences in space 
  • Earth Sciences  
  • Solar System Exploration 


  • An honorarium of 1000 Euros.
  • An invitation to present your work at the ESSC Plenary meeting (Spring 2022). Award winners travel expenses for the Plenary will be covered by the ESSC. 


All candidates have to be nominated.
  • Citizen or permanent resident of an EU country or an ESA member state.
  • Must be teaching/conducting research at a European institution.
  • Must be no more than ten years beyond receiving their Ph.D. or highest equivalent terminal degree. The years limit is calculated by summing only years that the nominee was active in academia. Break years are not included. 
  • Cannot be a former award winner. 
  • Cannot be a former or current ESSC and ESF members. 
  • Cannot be an immediate family of former or current ESSC and ESF members.

Nominators cannot be  

  • Former and current ESSC and ESF members 
  • Immediate family of former and current ESSC and ESF members 

Selection criteria

Candidates will be selected based on:
  • The new approaches, advancements or innovations they bring to their field
  • Relevance to science, industry or society
  • Contributions to opening new areas of research

How to apply

All candidates have to be nominated by the deadline of 28 February 2022, 17:00 CET.

If you have a question, contact us. We do not accept nominations by email.

Next steps

The ESSC secretariat will contact the successful nominee in March 2022. 

If selected, the nominee will be requested to submit: 

  • CV (PDF, two pages maximum)
  • Abridged bibliography (PDF, two pages maximum)
  • Description of the project that is subject to the award (two pages maximum)