The ESSC is currently chaired by Dr Athena Coustenis (Observatoire de Paris-Meudon, France) and includes 30 members across four panels: Astonomy and Fundamental Physics, Earth Sciences, Life and Physical Sciences, Solar System and Exploration.

Astronomy and Fundamental Physics Panel - AFP

  • Stéphane Udry -Panel Chair (University of Geneva, CH), exoplanets
  • Conny Aerts (KU Leuven, BE), asteroseismology
  • Nabila Aghanim, (Université Paris-Sud, FR), cosmology CMB, reionisation, galaxy clusters
  • Michael Perryman (University College Dublin, IE), astrophysics
  • Manolis Plionis, (National Observatory of Athens, GR), cosmology, galaxy formation
  • Alexander Tielens, (Leiden University, NL), InterStellar medium, chemistry, molecular astrophysics

Earth Sciences Panel - ESP

  • Ian Brown - Panel Chair (Stockholm University, SE), glaciology
  • Andreas Kääb (Oslo University, NO), EO and satellite based glaciology
  • Maarten Krol (Wageningen University, NL), atmospheric physics. & chemistry, climate
  • Rosemary Morrow (Laboratoire d’Etudes en Géophysique et Océanographie Spatiales, LEGOS, FR), ocean altimtery
  • Sindy Sterckx (VITO, BE), optical instrumentation and cal/val
  • Pepijn Veefkind (Royal Netherlands Meteorological Institute, NL), Sentinel algorithms and climate

Life and Physical Sciences Panel - LPS

  • Dominique Langevin -Panel Chair (University Paris Sud, FR), fluid physics and foams
  • Sarah Baatout (Belgian Nuclear Research Centre, BE), biology  
  • Alexander Chouker (Hospital of the Ludwig Maximilian University, DE), integrated physiology
  • Berndt Feuerbacher (DLR, DE), solid state physics
  • Helen J. Fraser (The Open University, UK), ices & physical sciences
  • Marc Heppener (FR), human spaceflight and exploration
  • Anne Pavy-Le Traon (University Hospital of Toulouse, FR), neurology
  • Roberto Piazza (Milano Politecnico, IT), colloids
  • Peter Preu (DLR, DE), materials
  • Hubertus Thomas (DLR, DE), complex plasmas

Solar System and Exploration Panel - SSEP

  • Hermann Opgenoorth -Panel Chair (Swedish Institute of Space Physics, SE), earth sciences and space physics
  • Mahesh Anand (The Open University, UK), moon
  • Ester Antonucci (Torino Observatory of Astronomy, IT), solar physics
  • Luisa Maria Lara (Instituto de Astrofisica de Andalucia-CSIC, ES), planetary sciences
  • Gerhard Paar (JOANNEUM RESEARCH, AT), robotics
  • Petra Rettberg (DLR, DE), astro/exobiology, biology
  • Robert Wimmer-Schweingruber (University of Kiel, DE), heliophysics

The previous ESSC Chairs were Professor Jean-Pierre Swings (Belgium, 2007-2014), Professor Gerhard Haerendel (Germany, 2002-2007), Professor John Leonard Culhane (United Kingdom, 1998-2002),  Professor François Becker (France, 1994-1997), Professor Heinrich J. Völk (Germany, 1987-1993), Professor Johannes Geiss (Switzerland, 1979-1987), and Professor Harry Massey†, founder (UK, 1975-1979).

The Chairperson is assisted by the ESF Office: Mr Nicolas Walter (ESSC Executive Scientific Secretary), Dr Emmanouil Detsis (Science Officer) and Ms Camellia Steinmetz (ESSC Administrator).